Celebrating the Class of 2018

Chaminade Julienne Catholic High School will graduate 158 students from the Class of 2018 on Monday, May 21 at 7 p.m. at the University of Dayton’s RecPlex.

150 students will attend 40​ different colleges or universities in the fall. Additionally, three members of the class will serve in the United State military, either as an enlisted service person, a cadet in one of the service academies or military college, or a participant in the Reserve Officers Training Corps at their college or university. 101​ ​members, or 64% of the class, was awarded more than $15 million dollars total in scholarships for their studies.

Katherine Kohnen, (St. Albert the Great, University of Dayton) was named the top of her class and Jasmine Hughes (Bishop Leibold, Purdue University) was second. Three students were named commended students by the National Merit Scholarship Program - Emery Monnig, Eric Peters  and Paul Wittmann.

Three seniors were also recognized by the CJ faculty and staff with annual awards that best exemplify the three pillars of the school's mission:

  • for her commitment to faith, dedication to learning, and demonstration of school and family spirit, Cecilia Meadors received the Founder's Award;
  • Jasmine Hughes received the Michael D. Trainor Award, named in honor of Chaminade Julienne's principal from 1999-2004, which is given to a student who has regularly demonstrated intellectual curiosity;
  • and for best exemplifying the Chaminade Julienne spirit, Zachary Scott received the Gerard "Fuzzy" Faust Award, named in honor of the legendary CJ teacher and coach who served from 1933-1980.

Additional accomplishments from the Class of 2018 included:

  • More than 7,400 hours of community service during the Class of 2018's four years at Chaminade Julienne, including Abigail Tracy who contributed 600 hours in her four years;
  • Jasmine Hughes and Emery Monnig receiving the OHSAA Scholar-Athlete Scholarship Award;
  • Micah Marshall and Blake Wogoman receiving OHSAA Archie Griffin Sportsmanship Award;
  • Thomas McGraw receiving the OHSAA Courageous Student Award;
  • Elijah Cochran and Kiara DiLoreto receiving the OHSAA State Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity Award;
  • 32 four-year varsity letter winners;
  • 59 seniors who were members of the National Honor Society;
  • 37 seniors who were Presidential Academic Award recipients;
  • 6 seniors who were Presidential Achievement Award recipients;
  • 24 seniors who remained on the honor roll for 15 consecutive quarters;
  • 6 seniors who were awarded the Seal of Biliteracy national award for completing advanced programs of World Language Study;
  • 8 seniors who completed four years of the Project Lead the Way Engineering program;
  • 6 seniors who completed four years of the Project Lead the Way Biomedical Science program; and,
  • 44 seniors who were awarded passing with distinction for their Senior Capstone Project.

Congratulations to the Class of 2018!

Posted May 18, 2018